DIY Scalloped Cardboard Letters

Okay, this is a project I learned a lot on, it was last minute and could have been better planned out, but I absolutely love that it’s a little rough around the edges.

What you’ll need:

A big piece of cardboard (I used a tri-fold poster board from target)

And exacto knife

Tissue paper

Scissors

Glue stick

Step One: Draw out your letters on your big piece of cardboard, lightly. The tissue paper is pretty transparent.

Step Two: Cut out your letters.

Step Three: Cut your tissue paper into scalloped strips. (Or zigzags or fringe, whatever floats your boat.) I kept the tissue paper folded to make the cutting easier.

Step Four: Swipe glue stick across bottom most section of your letter. Apply your first strip so that no card board is showing. Trim the side, but leave a little room.

Step Five: Swipe the glue stick in a strip above that and apply another strip of tissue paper. I staggered mine when I could, it’s up to you how far apart , but the closer together the better I think it looks.

Step Six: Repeat until you have the entire letter covered.

Step Seven: Flip the letter over. Apply glue to outer edges and fold tissue paper onto it. I started from the bottom and worked my way up.

Step Eight: Congratulations! You’re done. Hang or prop up as you please!

Next time I think I’m going to try a portable version of this.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

